Upper Explorerland Regional Planning Commission
Call Us!

(563) 382-6171

Visit Us!

325 Washington St, Decorah, IA 52101

Regional Housing Authority- Section 8 Housing Program

Regional Housing Authority

UERPC houses the Regional Housing Authority. This Section 8 Housing Program is the major effort in assisting lower-income families to live in decent, safe and sanitary housing. This program provides assistance for low-income families in the private rental market through the HUD Housing Choice Voucher Program.

For resources relating to the Violence Against Women Act (VAWA), please visit the link below:

To find available housing units or to list your unit for rent, please visit the link below:

Becoming a Part of the Rental Assistance Program

Eligibility for a rental voucher is determined by the local Housing Authority based on the total annual gross income and family size and is limited to U.S. citizens and specified categories of non-citizens who have eligible immigration status.  Income guidelines and rent limitations are available at the local housing authority office in Decorah.

The assistance is available for low-income households in Allamakee, Clayton, Fayette, Howard and Winneshiek Counties.  Families making application will be placed on a wait list.  Households will pay at least 30% of their monthly adjusted income towards their rent.

Anyone interested or wanting further information should contact the Upper Explorerland Regional Housing Authority at 563-864-7551.

It is illegal to discriminate against any person because of race, color, religion, sex, handicap, familial status or national origin.  We are an Equal Housing Opportunity Organization.

Income guidelines are posted in the below brochures and are effective January 10, 2023: 

Applying for Assistance

Applications for assistance are taken in person on MONDAYS from 8 am to 12 pm and 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm (the office is closed from 12 pm to 12:30 pm).

If you are aged 62 or disabled/handicapped, please call our office for a reasonable accommodation.

Applications will be placed on a waiting list.

If you are interested in more information, please feel free to contact the Housing Authority at:

Upper Explorerland Regional Planning Commission
325 Washington St
Decorah, IA 52101
Phone:  563-864-7551
FAX:  563-382-6311

Regional Housing Authority Board of Directors

    • Alberto Whitlatch- New Albin
    • *Dan Byrnes- County
    • Sarah Snitker- Waukon
    • Mary Engstrom- Postville
    • Katie Becker- Lansing
    • Denise Schneider- Guttenberg
    • Bonnie Basemann- Marquette
    • Ray Peterson- County
    • *Charles Carroll- McGregor
    • VACANT- Garnavillo
    • Randee Koenig- Monona
    • Mike Tucker- Strawberry Point
    • Jeff Bunn- County
    • Mark Schmitt- Waucoma
    • Susan Scott- Fayette
    • *Steve Roach- West Union
    • Joe Pisney- County
    • Shannon Gebel- Elma
    • *Jason Passmore (Chair)- Chester
    • Jane Tibbals- Lime Springs
    • Amy Bouska- Cresco
    • Crystal Reddel- Riceville
    • Ashley Goltz- Ossian
    • *Michele Elsbernd (Vice Chair)- County
    • Sheila Bullerman- Calmar
    • Maryann Humpal- Decorah
    • Shirley Vermace- County
    • Josh Uhlenhake- County


*Board of Directors

Chair- Jason Passmore

Vice Chair- Michele Elsbernd